Select Page

Dr. Angela Genge on CJAD with Andrew Carter

For #ALSAwareness Month, Dr. Genge was on CJAD radio to discuss clinical trials and the need for new therapies in ALS. The month may be almost over, but the fight never ends for patients and their families.

From the Montreal Gazette

“Angela Genge, director of the Montreal Neurological Institute’s ALS Clinical Research Program, says there’s a desperate need to educate medical professionals about recognizing the signs and symptoms of ALS earlier so patients can get the expert care they need fast.”

June is ALS Awareness Month

As a major Canadian centre for amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) research and treatment, the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital and the CRU, invites the public and the media to learn more about the disease, current research and treatments, and to wear the national emblem of ALS in Canada, the blue cornflower, during ALS Awareness Month in June.

World MS Day

In honor of both MS and Brain Tumour Awareness Month, members of our team wore either red (for MS) or grey (for brain tumour) to show their support.

The Clinical Research Unit (CRU) is part of McGill University and is located in the Montreal Neurological Institute & Hospital (MNI/MNH). This building, conceived by Dr. Wilder Penfield, comprises the MNI, a teaching and research institute, and the MNH, which is part of the McGill University Health Centre (MUHC). Inside its walls scientists and clinicians strive to bring better quality of care to the population through basic and clinical research including new surgical methods. This is the ideal location for the CRU since it can offer participation in clinical trials to the thousands of inpatients and outpatients that pass through the MNH every year.
Through McGill and the MUHC, the CRU has access to the most advanced medical technology available today. The CRU conducts clinical trials sponsored by pharmaceutical companies or granting agencies such as the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in the USA. All experimental medications used in clinical trials have already been tested in animals and in humans. All clinical trials have been approved by Health Canada (also FDA if conducted in USA) and have passed a rigorous review by the MNI/MNH Research Ethics Board.

Dedicated To:
• Aiding the advancement of neuroscience through clinical research.
• Participating in clinical trials to identify new or more effective treatments.
• Supplying study subjects with the best quality of care.
• Providing high quality data to sponsors and investigators.

Sélectionner une page

Données émanant de l’étude de phase III concernant le traitement par érénumab dans la prévention de la migraine publiées dans NEJM

Novartis a annoncé que le New England Journal of Medicine a publié les résultats de l’étude de phase III STRIVE, d’une durée de 6 mois, évaluant le traitement expérimental par l’érénumab pour la prévention de la migraine épisodique.

L'unité neurovasculaire a reçu le prix de la profession santé 2017

Grâce à une solide structure, cette équipe interdisciplinaire composée d’une trentaine de professionnels de la santé a réussi à réduire de façon significative le temps d’hospitalisation des patients victimes d’accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC) et à optimiser les soins qui leur sont prodigués.

Approbation de Spinraza pour l'amyotrophie spinale

« A game changing drug could save hundreds of Canadian kids with spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) from a life of profound disability. »

Le Neuro créera le premier centre d’essai clinique de phase I sur la SLA

« L’établissement d’un centre d’essais cliniques de phase I donnera aux patients atteints de SLA au Québec et au Canada un accès de première ligne aux dernières innovations » -Dr. Angela Genge

Bienvenue à l'unité de recherche clinique de l'Institut et hôpital neurologiques de Montréal

 L’unité de recherche clinique (URC) fait partie de l’Université McGill et est située à l’Institut et Hôpital neurologique de Montréal. Cet établissement, créé par le Dr Wilder Penfield, comprend l’institut neurologique de Montréal (INM), un institut d’enseignement et de recherche ainsi que l’Hôpital neurologique de Montréal (HNM), qui fait partie du Centre Universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM). A l’intérieur de cet établissement, les scientifiques et les cliniciens ont pour but d’offrir une meilleure qualité de soins à la population à travers la recherche fondamentale et la recherche clinique ainsi que par des méthodes chirurgicales innovatrices. Cet emplacement est idéal pour l’URC car il permet d’offrir aux milliers de patients internes et externes du HNM, la possibilité de participer a une étude clinique.
En collaboration avec McGill et le CUSM, l’URC a accès aux dernières technologies médicales disponible. L’URC effectue des études cliniques commanditées par des compagnies pharmaceutiques ou par des agences de fonds telles que le National Institutes of Health (NIH) aux États-Unis. Tous les médicaments expérimentaux utilisés dans les études cliniques ont déjà été testés sur des animaux et des humains. Toutes les études cliniques sont préalablement approuvées par Santé Canada (et par le FDA si l’étude est également conduite aux États-Unis) et ont été révisées de façon rigoureuse par le comité d’éthique de recherche du INM/HNM.

Se dédie à:
• Aider à l’avancement de la science neurologique avec la recherche clinique
• Participer à des études cliniques afin d’identifier de nouveaux traitements ou des traitements plus efficaces
• Fournir aux participants des études cliniques les meilleurs soins

• Fournir des données de grande qualité aux commanditaires et aux investigateurs